Birchbox Benefit Event March 2014

Little disclaimer:  This is going to be my longest post. haha.

Okay, so on Wednesday I went to the benefit birchbox event here in Chicago at the Southport Benefit store.  Benefit is my favorite makeup line.  I have used their products for as long as I can remember.

My sister and I arrived at the benefit store about 7 p.m. and not many people were there yet.  We were greeted, checked in, and handed a glass of sparkling pink wine.  I started out by getting my eyebrows tinted and waxed by Savannah.  She did a really great job, and this was my first time getting my eyebrows tinted.  I am definitely going to do it again and I might even go one shade darker.  The waxing was included with the $45.00 dollar ticket and is usually $20.00, but the tinting was not included and cost $18.00.  After the eyebrows, I was sent to Meg who applied my makeup, and she did a fantastic job and was so easy to talk to and very informative about products I’ve been wanting to try and ones that I’ve been scared to try.  After she did my makeup, I had another glass of wine and a sprinkles cupcake.  Then we purchased a bunch of stuff and the ticket included a $35.00 store credit. I can’t wait to go to more birchbox and/or benefit events!! We also got a free birchbox!!

The card in the birchbox:

Image

Just a little card detailing the event and talking about a contest if you tweet pics of benefit make up from the event.

Back of card:

Image

The card details the products in the box… Seriously, I almost died from pure excitement.  A strictly benefit birchbox?? Best birchbox ever!!!

The products I received in the box:

Image

All of the samples are so cutely packaged.

Stay Don’t Stray.  Full-size, $26.00.  

I’ve sampled this before (not from birchbox) and this is such a great eye primer.  Keeps the eyeshadow on all night.

It’s Potent! Eye Cream.  Full-size, $34.00.

I’ve sampled before too (not from birchbox) and really like it.  It’s really moisturizing, but didn’t get rid of bags or dark circles for me.

BadGal Las Mascara.  Full-size, $19.00.

I’ve sampled this before as well (not from birchbox), and it’s a great mascara for a dramatic look.

Creaseless Cream Shadow in No Pressure/liner.  Full-sie $20.00.

I’ve haven’t used these mascaras yet, but Meg put one of the colors on my eyes on Wednesday and it looked great! Can’t wait to wear this out somewhere.

Lifestyle extra.  Twistband.  Hair Ties.  6-pack $10.00.

I’ve received this a previous birchbox and love it.  Completely snag and crease free.  I wear these a lot at the gym.

And now everything I bought (or my sister bought for me).. Don’t judge.. I had the $35.00 credit!

Image

The Big Easy.  Full-size, $38.00

My color is actually number 2.  I’m extremely pale, but I guess the redness in my face makes me a light shade and not a fair shade.  As with all benefit powders and liquid foundation I really recommend going and asking the make up artists for suggestions as to which shade will best suit you, you might be surprised.  I’m a different shade in all benefit products.  Also, if you tan in the summer your foundation shade might change.  Anyway, with that said the BB cream is amazing!!! After she put this on me, I was sold.  You don’t really need anything on top of this unless you just want some extra coverage.  I also think this product will last a while.

Image

Moisture Prep Toning Lotion.  Full-size, $30.00.

I’ve always wanted to buy this toner from benefit, but never did.. until now.  This is seriously the best toner for me, because it reduces redness and still moisturizing.  It’s perfect for putting on after you wash your face or if you are feeling lazy as just a quick clean up for the day/night/after gym.

Image

Lollitint.  Full-size, $30.00

I have a couple samples of benetint and like it as a lip tint, but not a cheek tint, so I was kinda hesitant about lollitint. Meg told me that this purple color would work great with my skin tone and she was right.  It also looks good on my lips as a base for the lipgloss she put over it..

Image

Ultra Plush Lip Gloss in Kiss you.  Full-size, $16.00. 

So meg put this color over the lollitint and it looked amazing!! I felt like spring.  I’m happy she used these purple colors, since they are the color of the year.

So my sister bought me this:

Image

Kitten:  A Sparkling Powder in a Puf.  Full size, $26.00 (I think?) 

When I was a lot younger, my sister and I would always see these at Marshall Field’s and wanted it more than anything (probably because my cousin had one), but when we were old enough to afford it we didn’t see it.  When we were at the benefit boutique we found a bunch of these kind of hidden away.. My sister bought three… One for me, my cousin and herself.  I’m not sure if this is discontinued because I don’t see it on their website.

And then she bought me this:

Image

Coralista.  Full-size, $28.00.

I love this “tropical” pink blush.  It’s so pretty and smells amazing.  I can’t wait to wear it!!

TLDR; benefit birchbox event was amazing, my eyebrows look great, bought too much stuff, spent too much money, sister spent too much money, and drank good wine.  =)

5 Comments

  1. hey lady – love your review! i had planned on going to this event but came down with the worst cold and just couldn’t get out of bed! hopefully there’s another event soon 🙂

    ps – i live right by the southport corridor in chi-town if you ever want to get together and chat blog stuff, let me know!

    caitlin
    acheekyfox.com

Leave a Reply

